Being involved in an accident in Florida often involves more than filing your claim for no-fault benefits. If you sustain a serious injury, there’s a chance your insurance company will not provide full reimbursement for the monetary damages you experienced.
Sometimes, you will need to hire a personal injury lawyer in West Palm Beach to file a lawsuit to help you collect the monetary damages you are entitled to from the at-fault party.
If the at-fault driver has just the minimum auto insurance coverage required in the state of Florida, your personal injury lawyer, West Palm Beach injury lawyer must attempt to go after the assets of the parties who are at fault for your accident.
Learn more about Florida insurance coverage and what options you have to collect monetary damages.
Insurance Laws in Florida
Every state in the U.S. requires that drivers have auto insurance before registering their vehicles. It’s required that Florida drivers show proof of the following coverage:
- Personal injury protection (PIP): $10,000 (minimum)
- Property damage coverage: $20,000 (minimum)
PIP insurance will cover medical costs and lost wages. Remember, Florida is considered a no-fault state. This means that PIP coverage will pay benefits regardless of who was at fault for the accident.
Passengers and pedestrians can file their claims for PIP benefits with their own insurance companies. If they don’t own a vehicle, they can file a claim with the PIP insurance for the vehicle that hit them or the one they were riding in.
Unfortunately, PIP coverage isn’t always enough to cover the costs of lost earnings or medical care if you are seriously hurt in an accident. The $10,000 minimum coverage will only apply if you seek medical treatment within 14 days of the accident.
If your symptoms do not appear immediately or if you wait to seek treatment, the maximum coverage you can receive is reduced to $2,500 rather than $10,000.
It’s also important to note that PIP coverage won’t cover everything. This will create another issue with Florida’s no-fault law. PIP won’t pay for your pain and suffering. It will only cover your out-of-pocket costs. Also, PIP benefits will only pay 80% of the medically necessary services. These include the following:
- Prosthetic devices
- Medical treatment
- Dental treatment
- Surgical care
- Nursing care
- Ambulance services
- Hospital charges
- Rehabilitation services
It will only pay 60% of the lost earnings an accident victim experiences. One way to recover the monetary damages for pain and suffering and out-of-pocket costs experienced in the accident is by suing the at-fault party.
Compensation Options for Florida Accident Victims
Along with PIP coverage, there are other options to receive the monetary compensation you deserve. Some of these options include the following:
- Medical payment insurance coverage
- Workers’ compensation insurance
- Health insurance
Filing a lawsuit against the at-fault driver in an accident can be one option you can pursue. However, the law in Florida prevents you from receiving non-economic damages unless you can prove the following occurred:
- Permanent injuries
- Significant and permanent loss of any essential bodily function
- Significant and permanent scarring or disfigurement
Your Rights After a Florida Accident
If you are involved in a Florida accident, you have the right to recover monetary compensation. Contact an experienced personal injury lawyer in West Palm Beach for help with your case. They can review the facts and help ensure you receive the compensation you are entitled to.
Remember, not all attorneys are created equal, so be sure to spend time and effort choosing the right one for your case.